DEMON and FLOWERS, Number 1, Edit C by Nawfal Johnson

Title: DEMON and FLOWERS, Number 1, Edit C. Creation Date: 6 September 2014. Collection: MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY Collection Years: 2010 to Present (On-Going). Copyright 2014 Nawfal Johnson. All Rights Reserved. Penang, Malaysia. WEB: https://smokephotographist.wordpress.com  "MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY" is a collection of colour and Black & White, abstract images that are designed with a mirrored effect.  Sometimes the mirrored image is an exact opposite-duplicate for both sides.  However, in some cases, one half is ALMOST a mirrored duplicate - with a few compositional differences. At times, my final artwork will resemble what seem mysterious forms and ominous images, even scary, or evil representations. Nevertheless, the viewer of my portfolio can decide for themselves what they see in these MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY images.

Title: DEMON and FLOWERS, Number 1, Edit C.
Creation Date: 6 September 2014.
Collection: MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY
Collection Years: 2010 to Present (On-Going).
Copyright 2014 Nawfal Johnson.
All Rights Reserved.
Penang, Malaysia.
WEB: https://smokephotographist.wordpress.com
“MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY” is a collection of colour and Black & White, abstract images that are designed with a mirrored effect. Sometimes the mirrored image is an exact opposite-duplicate for both sides. However, in some cases, one half is ALMOST a mirrored duplicate – with a few compositional differences. At times, my final artwork will resemble what seem mysterious forms and ominous images, even scary, or evil representations. Nevertheless, the viewer of my portfolio can decide for themselves what they see in these MIRRORED ABSTRACT PHOTOGRAPHY images.

This is my ‘Dark Period’.
These are dark times….
The sun is engulfed by gloom.
A gloom that is a bottomless pit.
Anyone who has never been to this place will never understand it.
Anyone who has been there, will surely sympathize, because they will understand the demons that haunt and the blackness that spreads with every cell division in your body.
And it feels like you are alone – no one gives a flying shit about you or the pain you face; they care neither about your physically caused pain, nor the mental struggles that keep you locked up like a prisoner in your own shell of a skin. 
You feel like shouting at the world, but your shouts come out with only silence because there are none who care…none who give a damn. 
Joy…What is Joy?  Joy has abandoned me – you too will understand this if you have lived through this hell:  Depression  is a bottomless pit of gloom, misery, a soul-energy-wasting demon that never sleeps.  Evil is busy – it never sleeps….it never sleeps.

~ Nawfal Johnson ~

People tell and advise you never to expose negative thoughts and feelings about yourself, for God sakes never do that, or possible clients and employers will see it and they will shun you like you are Typhoid-Mary!  Probably true.  Well, F’that!  I am just an expressive artist who is having the worst shit of a time in my entire life, at 49, and nothing I do seems to be working or helping. 

However, when did art not become an expressive way of expressing yourself?  When did poetry or writing NOT become a personal expression of life, your life as it is today when you write it? 

If I had a theme song in my life right now, that I could just put on repeat, it would be Pink Floyd’s “Comfortably Numb.”  But they would need to change it to “Un-Comfortably Numb” to fit better.

 

 

6 comments

    1. I really want to be able to tell you, my friend, that that is the case – but it is not. I am at the worst PIT…hell….you Remember the part in the movie, “300” where the messenger of Xerxes gets stabbed and then kicked into the bottomless Spartan pit – yeah, that’s kind of how I feel lately. Stabbed and falling forever into the pit. Sorry my friend, but that is the truth. I do not cover up my real self and real life when it comes to friends, real friends. Most people would say, “So, how are you doing?” Even though the asker does not really probably care, and the common answer is “OK” or “good”. Even though that might not be the case. But, I do know you care, so with the few people who do care about me, you being one of them, I must be honest, shouldn’t I be honest?!? It is just how things are for me right now. Maybe some time in a galaxy far far away, I will be OK. But right now, life is no fun. And life was meant to be fun, wasn’t’ it – What does that feel like? I don’t remember that feeling. Tears fill my eyes as I write this that I am so sad, but I am happy that you are my friend, and those tears are also because I know I have a handful of friends who do care.

      Like

      1. Of course you should be honest, my friend. I am very very sad to hear that [I knew before reading this] but I can’t help but hope… and wish you the best, with all my heart and sending you my thoughts and prayers. You WILL get better! [you have no idea how stubborn I can get! 😉 ]

        Like

    1. Thank you so much, Resa – I am very humbled and happy with your very kind compliment. I love the work that you do as well – it is so interesting to see the wall art in your area – I like it very much – how you photograph it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

