WHAT DO YOU SAY TO YOUR DOCTOR WHEN THEY TELL YOU SOMETHING IS ACCEPTABLE WHEN THEY ARE NOT THE ONE WHO HAS TO LIVE WITH IT?

Here’s a good question for you — WHAT DO YOU SAY TO YOUR DOCTOR WHEN THEY TELL YOU SOMETHING IS ACCEPTABLE WHEN THEY ARE NOT THE ONE WHO HAS TO LIVE WITH IT?


I saw the orthopaedic doctor on Monday about my “healed” fractured hand.  It has been 7 weeks since my accident, in which I fractured my 5th metacarpal bone, right hand.


The doctor says:  “OK, looks good.”

I say:  “What!  I can’t fully close my hand, I have nerve damage, and my small finger is permanently bent at an angle, and hurts like hell!”

Doctor says:  “For that kind of injury, that is ACCEPTABLE ANGULATION of the finger.”

I thought:  “WTF are you talking about?  You don’t have to live with a gimpy finger that is permanently bent in an unnatural direction!”  But I basically held back my thought, and asked, “is there a surgical solution?”

The doctor said: “No, it will make it worse” (he claimed).


It’s easy for doctors to simply say things to patients as if we don’t feel stressed out about a medical condition that we will apparently have to live with, even though it makes life painful and difficult.


Apparently, 40 to 50 degrees out of alignment is “ACCEPTABLE ” for a 5th metacarpal fracture!  THAT’S INSANE!

So, what do you say to a doctor, when they tell you that A CONDITION YOU HAVE IS ACCEPTABLE, but they don’t have to live with it…?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

